The Sanguine Woods

7b0de8872cfcaa78505a63483d44b438(Pinterest*)


When in May, 1886, I found myself at last in Paris, I naturally determined to throw myself on the charity of an old chum of mine, Eugene Marie d’Ardeche, who had forsaken Boston a year or more ago on receivingword of the death of an aunt who had left him such property as shepossessed. I fancy this windfall surprised him not a little, for therelations between the aunt and nephew had never been cordial, judgingfrom Eugene’s remarks touching the lady, who was, it seems, a more or less wicked and witch-like old person, with a penchant for black magic, at least such was the common report.

Why she should leave all her property to d’Ardeche, no one could tell, unless it was that she felt his rather hobbledehoy tendencies towards Buddhism and occultism might some day lead him to her own unhallowed height of questionable illumination. To be sure…

View original post 5,521 more words

